Covid Second Wave: Countries Implemented Travel Ban To And From India

The governments across the globe impose restrictions on travellers from India including banning flights and making 14-day quarantine mandatory on arrivals.

Many countries including the UK, US, Iran, Hong Kong, Germany, Bangladesh, Australia, Singapore, and Kuwait have imposed restrictions on passengers or banned travel altogether from India. The decision was taken due to the surging of Covid cases and the emergence of a new Covid-19 variant in the country.

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom has added India to its travel red list on April 23 and has suspended all flights in view of the surge in Covid cases in India. The nationals under the red list, as well as foreign residents in the UK, should pay a large amount to stay in a government-approved hotel for quarantine for 10 days.

United States

The United States government restricted travel from India starting on May 4. This policy will not apply to American citizens, and lawful permanent residents. The travellers from India must produce Covid negative test report, and quarantine if they are not vaccinated. These restrictions do not apply to humanitarian workers.

Earlier, government told its citizens to leave the country. In a travel advisory, the department of State-US citizens mentioned that there are 14 directs flights from India daily.


Germany has blocked nearly all travel from India from April 26. It will only allow German nationals or passengers holding German residency permits to enter the country, they will have to produce a Covid negative certificate before departure and undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine. This rule applies to people travelling to Schengen via Germany.


Like German, only Italy has barred foreign travellers who have been in India in the past 14 days from entering the country, considering the worsening Covid situation in India. Italian residents in India are allowed to return with a Covid-19 negative test report before departure and on arrival, and they will have to go into quarantine.

Hong Kong

The Hong Kong government has also banned all passenger flights from India starting April 20, for 14 days.


Canada announced a 30-day ban on passenger flights from India and Pakistan, which starts from April 28. All commercial and passenger flights from India will be temporarily grounded. Cargo flights, however, will be allowed to continue.


The United Arab Emirates has not imposed a ban or severe restrictions, but it has released a fresh set of guidelines for people travelling to Dubai from India on April 26. Passengers flying from India to Dubai will now have to submit an RT-PCR negative test report with QR code on it, and undergo a mandatory 14 days quarantine rule.


Kuwait had suspended all direct commercial flights coming from India which came into effect on April 24. The move was on the instructions of health authorities after an analysis of the global coronavirus status. All passengers arriving from India either directly or through another country will be banned from entering unless they have spent at least 14 days out of India.


The Indonesia government has decided to not issue visas to any foreigners who have been in India for the last 14 days to prevent Covid-19 transmission from April 23. Passengers will be allowed to enter the country from India, but will have to follow the protocols and undergo quarantine.


The Netherlands has said it is suspending all passenger flights arriving from India from April 26, amid a surge in Covid cases in the country.

The flight ban is till May 1, unless the Cabinet decides to extend it. Flights with medical personnel and cargo flights will be exempted from the ban.


With effect from April 27suspends tourists travelling from India to Maldives from staying at tourist facilities in inhabited islands


Singapore has announced mandatory 14 days quarantine at a dedicated facility, as well as an additional seven days Stay-at-Home Notice for those arriving from India.


On April 27, Australia suspended passenger flights from India till May 15, due to the spike in Covid cases in India. Recently, the country announced that it would cut the number of its citizens able to return from India and other red-zone countries to contain the risk of Covid-19 spreading.


The Thai embassy in New Delhi said in an official statement that certificates of entry for non-Thai nationals travelling from India will be suspended from April 27, until further notice.


Malawi has banned all but essential travellers from India from April 28. Passengers should provide a negative PCR test result which is taken within 72 hours before arrival, and undergo quarantine at a designated hotel at their own expense on arrival into the country.

In case, if you have already booked a ticket to one of these countries, passengers need not worry, because these jurisdictions have imposed a ban on travel with a grace period. So, after the travel restriction period is expired, passengers should reach out to their airlines. Also, note that the news briefs in this article have been compiled and reproduced from various sources online and print media. We do not attest to the veracity of any of the information here.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top